Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
1892 Krag Parts (Read 1648 times)
Aug 8th, 2010 at 11:21am

RMcBride   Offline
KCA Forum Member
Krag Enthusiast!
South Florida

I recently purchased a decent 1892 Krag with an unmolested flat butt stock. The serial number is not quite low enough for the brass tipped cleaning rod, but I would like to obtain the steel tipped rod. Is it unrealistic to expect that there may be rods for sale out there? I am fairly new to Krags, but have Brophy's book and I am learning. Also the no trap butt plate was replaced by a trap type, of which I believe was flattened out to comform to the flat butt. Unfortunately, the butt end was relieved enough to accomodate the trap type mechanism. Once again, do you think it would be possible to locate a no trap buttplate? Thanks for your responses. Rob McBride

IP Logged

Reply #1 - Aug 8th, 2010 at 2:50pm

Dick Hosmer   Offline
KCA Official Member
Collector of Springfield
Arms, 1865-1915
Northern California

AFAIK, original cleaning rods have been unobtainable on the spare parts market for several decades. Some "big name" Krag collectors have been forced to make do with repros, for a very long time.

But, you NEVER know what you will dig up. As an example, during a recent 9-month span, I took not one but TWO 26" BoOF rifles off Gunbroker for little more than lunch money (5 cents on the dollar, average). Neither was perfect, but the second one HAS the rare sights, and only needs a $200 forend stretch,. So, good things CAN happen. 

My 1892R, #2546, has the same problem as yours. Nice flat butt, and someone beat out a later plate to fit, but, they also had to scoop out the stock. Flat (thin) buttplates CAN be had. Try the Classifieds here, or the parts guys listed at Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

IP Logged

Reply #2 - Aug 8th, 2010 at 3:58pm

RMcBride   Offline
KCA Forum Member
Krag Enthusiast!
South Florida