Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Yet another dumb question... (Read 2090 times)
BushRat
KCA Forum Member

Krag Collector!

Yet another dumb question...
Nov 5th, 2010 at 5:39am
Print Post  
(My Krag inexperience is showing here...)

I have learned recently that sporterized Krags have used
either the Redfield or Pacific peep sights that attach to the
LH side of the receiver. Do both of these require the removal
of the cut-off switch? Or is there a peep sight that doesn't?
Is there any on-line reference source to find out more info,
perhaps starting with make/models of the different sights?

Any info you wish to share would be greatly appreciated.
                                                         Thank you!
                                                           -Mark-

IP Logged

Dick Hosmer
KCA Official Member

Collector of Springfield
Arms, 1865-1915

Re: Yet another dumb question...
Reply #1 - Nov 5th, 2010 at 5:53pm
Print Post  
I'm no expert on sporterized Krags, but I believe that all of the high-grade receiver sights used the cut-off hole to some degree. The ones you really want to avoid are those which need a hole in the receiver.

I believe that at least one sight also used the sideplate screw hole, with a longer screw, but I THINK it may have required a slight cut in the wood.

Rice made a rudimentary peep which mounts non-invasively on the bolt sleeve, and a couple of makers had a sight which dovetailed into the rear of the cocking piece.

Of course, ALL Krag aftermarket sights are, I believe (but could surely be wrong!) long out of production. Gun shows will be your best source, and a fine Lyman or Redfield won't be inexpensive.

If you NEED the cut-off, a Rice might be your best bet.

IP Logged

kragluver
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Nov 6th, 2010 at 2:13am
Print Post