Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Is this false advertising? PC Carbine (Read 2359 times)
GUTS
KCA Forum Member
*
Offline


Krag Enthusiast!

Posts: 26
Location: South Dakota
Joined: Oct 2nd, 2011
Gender: Male
Is this false advertising? PC Carbine
Oct 8th, 2011 at 3:40am
Print Post  
While looking for a rear sight I came across this.
(You need to Login to view media files and links)
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Dick Hosmer
KCA Official Member
***
Offline


Collector of Springfield
Arms, 1865-1915

Posts: 1862
Location: Northern California
Joined: Nov 20th, 2005
Gender: Male
Re: Is this false advertising? PC Carbine
Reply #1 - Oct 8th, 2011 at 2:13pm
Print Post  
I've seen that ad, but never looked at the pictures, since I have a specimen already, and, IMHO, the price is about triple what I believe the piece to be worth. As I understand it, the seller acquired a Krag collection from an old-time collector and proceded to liquidate it. There were some very nice guns, including a Board of Ordnance and Fortifications 26" barrel rifle with bayonet. The seller knows guns, but is not a Krag specialist. PC rifles, or "school guns" are uncommon, but NOT "rare"; there are, I think, three on GunBroker right now, at least one of which is under $1000.

As to the rifle itself, while it LOOKS right, overall, the serial number is a bit unusual - most PCRs are found with lower M1899 numbers - under 250000. Most of them have 1901C sights - that is a 1902C. The bayonet lug is properly beveled, and the barrel is properly turned down. The carbine sight-protector is a scarce accessory, but the rifle one is more commonly seen (obviously both fit, so that's optional). While an undated [JFC] cartouche is correct for PCRs modified at SA, that one appears to be a version I've not seen, and I have two examples - one on my PCR, and one on my 1913-vintage 1903.

In short, I'd like to see the gun in person, in order to justify the price. I understand from the man who bought the 26" rifle that the seller is a nice guy, and will deal. Whether he will come down to what I believe is reality for that piece, could be another matter. As to being deliberate "false advertising", I'd say not guilty, but, due to the manner in which it is being offered, I'm not surprised it has not sold. I think the seller is honest, but somewhat ignorant.
  
Back to top
WWW  
IP Logged
 
GUTS
KCA Forum Member
*
Offline


Krag Enthusiast!

Posts: 26
Location: South Dakota
Joined: Oct 2nd, 2011
Gender: Male
Re: Is this false advertising? PC Carbine
Reply #2 - Oct 8th, 2011 at 2:59pm
Print Post  
It seems that the more information I get on these rifles the more unusual it would be to actually find the real thing, that's why whenever I see one advertised as such the red flags start popping up. Thanks for the help Mr. Hosmer.
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send TopicPrint
Bookmarks: del.icio.us Digg Facebook Google Google+ Linked in reddit StumbleUpon Twitter Yahoo