Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 bought a new Krag today (Read 6951 times)
Bill Rogers
KCA Forum Member

Kragger

bought a new Krag today
Jul 12th, 2015 at 1:56am
Print Post  
I've been trying to find a reasonable Krag rifle for many years to go with my collection of carbines.  I've been kicking myself for 15 years since an auction at Hesse's where I lost out on one of the best I'd ever seen.  I went today to another Hesse auction and there was a Krag rifle with a bayonet.  Everything was in good shape but i do have some questions.  The serial number tells me 1899 the stock is cartouched for 1900 the bayonet is 1902 but that doesn't matter as i have an 1899.  The stock looks good and looks like it matches.  The hardware looks good enough to pass for original.  My question is if the serial number specifically states 1899 what are the chances it was re stocked or maybe late 1899 got a 1900 stock? #153798  I was surprised at the low turnout.  If any of you were there let me know.  I would have said hello!

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: bought a new Krag today
Reply #1 - Jul 12th, 2015 at 4:13am
Print Post  
'Bill Rodgers': What source "specifically states" that your model 1898 Krag rifle, serial number 153798, was built in 1899?

Krag receivers were numbered prior to being assembled into complete arms. Krags were not built, accepted, or issued in numerical order. Some estimates would place your rifle's assembly around November, 1898.

Some Krags close to your rifle's serial number were issued to 34th and 35th U.S. Vol. Inf. in August, 1899. (They would have been built and received acceptance 'cartouche' before being issued).

IMHO - It is unlikely a stock with a 1900 'cartouche'  was the original stock on your Krag. More likely, it was switched during refurbishment work.

That doesn't make your Krag 'wrong', just likely 'rebuilt' (many were).

It would be fun to see some pictures!

IP Logged

Bill Rogers