Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
1895 Question (Read 2321 times)
ABolt
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

1895 Question
Jul 3rd, 2017 at 1:13am
Print Post  
Hey guys, newbie here. A few questions for you. 1st which might answer my second. Can someone direct me to a good source that will show what the serial number ranges are for the 1895/1896's carbines? I found one that is only stamped 1895 (no "model" in front of it) with serial # 25961 and I'm curious if it's a true carbine. I've done some research now, and found to check the rear sight for a "C" and a few other items. But I realize some of those features can be faked. Price is $500. Want to make sure it's worth it before I go buy it. Any info you guys can provide is appreciated.

IP Logged

Culpeper
KCA Forum Member

Re: 1895 Question
Reply #1 - Jul 3rd, 2017 at 3:17am
Print Post  
Does the front sight look like a M1903 Springfield?

Your sn is in the 96c range in Mr. Mallory's book.  However.  However many things could have happened to it between from the moment it was originally built in FY1895.  It could have been though Inspect and Repair As Nessesary (IRAN) at the Arsenal or some long gone gunsmith got to it or Ol' Bubba got to it.

Run a rod down on the closed bolt face.  Should be 22 inches.  But that is not a guarantee.  If it has a m1903 front chances are it is a cut down rifle.

Pictures sees all, tells all.

Deacon in the Church of the Mighty Krag. Member of People Eating Tasty Animals (PETA).  (You need to Login to view media files and links)

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Jul 3rd, 2017 at 2:53pm
Print Post  
'ABolt' - welcome to the KCA Forum.

There are lots of model 1896 carbines around #25961.

Most 1896 carbines fall between numbers: (24709 to 35792 and 67010 to 79764).

With the "1895" marking, it is likely this Krag at least started out as a carbine.