Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 Banded Front Sight (Read 8996 times)
coaspen
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Banded Front Sight
Aug 25th, 2017 at 9:41pm
Print Post  
During installation of a new front sight blade, I cracked a solder joint holding the front sight band together. After cleaning away the old solder, I see about a 1/4" split on the side of the band. The band was soldered together when installed on the barrel. I am ready to have the front sight band resoldered to the barrel, but thought I better stop and ask some questions. Was this old solder joint the correct installation of the band? Was it a repair at some later time? Any tips on resoldering that will keep from damaging the barrel? The Krag appears to be an 1896 Saddle Ring Carbine.

IP Logged

FredC
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Banded Front Sight
Reply #1 - Aug 25th, 2017 at 10:29pm
Print Post  
I am not an expert on carbines but I do not think an original carbine has a banded sight. Some original carbines were modified by traders, maybe banded sights were part of the usual modifications. If you post a picture it may help those with more knowledge.

IP Logged

coaspen
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Aug 26th, 2017 at 1:32am
Print Post  
Sorry, I should have sent the photos originally.

(You need to Login to view media files and links) 2017-08-25_18_49_12.jpg (Attachment deleted)
(You need to Login to view media files and links) 2017-08-25_18_50_40.jpg (Attachment deleted)
(You need to Login to view media files and links) 2017-08-25_18_51_05.jpg (Attachment deleted)
(You need to Login to view media files and links) 2017-08-25_18_53_12.jpg (Attachment deleted)
(You need to Login to view media files and links) 2017-08-25_18_53_41.jpg (Attachment deleted)

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #3 - Aug 26th, 2017 at 2:41am
Print Post  
'coaspen': Welcome to the KCA forum.