Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Replacing the receiver of a sporterized U.S. Krag (Read 2852 times)
FrenchBrittanyFan
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Replacing the receiver of a sporterized U.S. Krag
Sep 20th, 2017 at 1:56am
Print Post  
I have a beautiful Krag sporter, but need to replace the receiver which has been drilled to death for various scope mounts and sights. The barrel is just fine - clean and nicely blued. I bought a stripped receiver, but I am intimidated by what I’m reading about the difficulty of removing the barrel. I am an absolute novice at gunsmithing. Everything I’ve read comes from the perspective that the barrel is expendable and the receiver is holy. In my case it’s the opposite. If the receiver is expendable, is there an opportunity to simplify the barrel removal? Thanks in advance for any advice you might have.

IP Logged

madsenshooter
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Replacing the receiver of a sporterized U.S. Krag
Reply #1 - Sep 20th, 2017 at 2:08am
Print Post  
It should be fairly simple, provided the barrel isn't larger at the receiver ring than a standard barrel.  I use an old pipe vise with thick aluminum shims over the barrel to prevent marring.  Then a wrench that tightens over the receiver, again with aluminum shims.  A barrel with a diameter larger than the original has to be seated to the receiver, and the face of US receivers are often not square.

IP Logged

FredC
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Sep 20th, 2017 at 3:19pm
Print Post  
The one Krag barrel I pulled off was not extremely tight. Krag barrels are evidently more or less interchangeable, with tolerances being what they are some will be a lot tighter to make things line up.
Another forum member that had access to a milling machine built his own tools to replace a barrel also. If you go over this thread:  (You need to Login to view media files and links)