Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Request for Assistance (Read 4304 times)
starnes1987
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Request for Assistance
Jan 10th, 2018 at 2:08pm
Print Post  
Gents,

My step-father has a Danish Krag model 1889 built in 1912, all numbers matching, serial number R.2707. This rifle has sat in his basement for nearly 15 years and he never shoots this rifle nor any firearms for that matter. I believe it was passed down to him by his father and has been in the family for decades. This rifle is rusted, corroded, and will probably never fire again. Nevertheless, I want to refinish the rifle, remove the rust, and clean it up for him to put into a display case so he can have something to remember his side of the family who have all passed away. There are no family heirlooms on his side of the family.
Before I present it to him, I want to find out as much about this rifle and its history as possible. This is my first time dealing with Krag rifles, so I have spent the last month researching this rifle. I still cannot find any family history with this rifle, so I was hoping I could get some information about this specific rifle from the serial number.

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Request for Assistance
Reply #1 - Jan 10th, 2018 at 7:50pm
Print Post  
'starnes1987' - Welcome to the KCA Forum. That is an interesting Danish Krag carbine in your family.

The '1912 date' may actually indicate the carbine model or type. My references suggest the "R" in front of #2707 denotes 'Rytterkarabin' (Cavalry Carbine).

The Danes had a Cavalry Carbine model of 1912 and a model of 1923. They also had rather similar Engineer and Pioneer carbines. (Apparently, some of the Danish Cavalry carbines were fitted to take a bayonet).