Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Bad rap (Read 3414 times)
Bajr
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Bad rap
Nov 9th, 2018 at 12:58am
Print Post  
I'm kinda new to the world of Krags, and i could be nuts, but at first blush, it appears to me the Krag got a bad rap after the Cuban engagement. With the Spanish fortified on high ground and most of the regular US  troops carring trap doors the out come seams rather predictable. I understand the Krags short comings but it might be a little exaggerated to explain how events unfolded.

IP Logged

Knute1
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Bad rap
Reply #1 - Nov 9th, 2018 at 3:02am
Print Post  
The Krag Jorgensen Rifle (U.S. Magazine Rifle, .30 Caliber, Model of 1892/1896/1898) was exactly what the Ordnance Department wanted. Over 50 rifles were looked at by a Board in 1892. The clip fed Mauser was one of the rifles considered. The Krag was selected even over this rifle due to fear of soldiers wasting ammo by getting too many shots off. Some older Army officers still preferred the Springfield Trapdoor over the Krag. The Krag has a magazine cut-off, allowing it to be single loaded with 5 rounds in reserve when things got hot.

Losses were great among the U.S. troops, as you stated due to charging up hill. But it was recognized that the Mauser was loaded quicker giving the Spaniards greater firepower by fewer troops who had better cover. But the best I have found looking at period articles, the U.S. troops were proud of and fond of their rifle. The Krag is a well built and accurate weapon, even though the design may have been somewhat outclassed by the Mauser that also used a more powerful cartridge. The next service rifle in 1903 was based on the Mauser design leading to a $1 royalty to Paul Mauser for every 1903 Springfield rifle built limited to a $200,000 payment.