Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
 10 Brass Case Cleaning (Read 4791 times)
Local Boy
KCA Forum Member
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Brass Case Cleaning
Nov 23rd, 2018 at 8:59pm
Print Post  
Just wondering how other folks clean their brass?

I'm a newbie and don't know my brass from a hole in the ground when it comes to reloading.

So far the only ammo I've reloaded has been .38 Special and .45 ACP.

Currently I'm using a Lyman vibrating tumbler with Lyman Turbo Tumbler Media with a rouge polish called Tufnut.  I'm only using the Tufnut because it it came with the used reloading press that I purchased.

The media cleans and polishes the cases but leaves a red residue.

I've done a lot of online research but what I'm really interested in is finding out what other KCA members use to clean their brass casings?

Hopefully, I should loading 30-40 Krag ammo soon!!!

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Brass Case Cleaning
Reply #1 - Nov 24th, 2018 at 12:38am
Print Post  
I don't normally clean or polish my Brass.

If I Full-Length Resize cases, I will put them in my Lyman vibrating tumbler with walnut shell medium, for a few hours, to clean lubricant off of the cases.

Ammo that I shoot in bolt guns is usually just Neck-Sized. I put a little case lube on the necks, prior to neck-sizing, and wipe it off with an old towel, before priming. For Neck-Sizing .30-40 cases, I use a Lee Collet Die in 7.5X55mm Swiss and don't bother with any lube.

Sometimes, I clean the inside of rifle case necks with a small bristle brush and mica dust. I have an old 'Bonanza' plastic 'doodad' screwed to my Press Stand. It holds several diameters of upright brushes in a hopper of mica.

I clean Primer pockets with a RCBS hand tool.

I think shiny Brass may draw enemy fire!  Wink
« Last Edit: Nov 24th, 2018 at 3:13am by butlersrangers »  

IP Logged

psteinmayer
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Nov 24th, 2018 at 1:07am
Print Post