Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 Need help identifying rifle (Read 6478 times)
kragkrazy
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Need help identifying rifle
Nov 28th, 2018 at 10:34pm
Print Post  
Folks, here are some pictures of my barreled action Krag.

I am completely new to Krags, but I believe it to be a Model 1898 manufactured in the year 1900.

Obviously I need a stock and associated metal bits. Any help with that would be greatly appreciated! I'd like to shoot this some day.

If you all can educate me on this rifle or provide any SRS that would be swell.

What stock do I need? Is that sight correct? (I suspect it's an 1896 sight).

Thanks in advance!
-Rob

P.S. My apologies for the large pictures, I don't know how to make them smaller!

IP Logged

FredC
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Need help identifying rifle
Reply #1 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 11:34pm
Print Post  
Are you trying to make a sporter or something that looks original? I did a sporter howto some time back. It is in the sporter section. I started with the installed sporter stock. I had understood that a friend of my uncle had whittled it out from a blank, but another person posted a photo of his completed rifle and his stock looked like mine. So there is someone out there making sporter stocks for Krags. The fellow that fitted my uncles did a very poor job and left me with a lot of problems to straighten out, the other member evidentally did not have those problems.
I Have looked for that other thread and have not been able to find it maybe some else with better search technic can find it and tell us who made the stock.
If you are intending to make an original looking rifle other will be able to help you find the parts.

IP Logged

kragkrazy
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Nov 28th, 2018 at 11:42pm
Print Post  
Thank you for the reply. I am looking to put this back to an original rifle - IF possible!