Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
New to Krag Rifles with Questions (Read 1902 times)
lgr1613
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

New to Krag Rifles with Questions
Dec 1st, 2018 at 4:28pm
Print Post  
Hello to everyone! I am new to the Krag universe, having purchased my first one (a Model 1896) just last week, the Saturday after Thanksgiving. The rifle was converted to a sporter many years ago, has a 1902 rear sight. The stock was modified for a recoil pad, which I have already removed. The past week has made for a steep learning curve, action removed from the stock, inspected and cleaned. Purchased the Poyer book and have been reading it the last couple of days. Just a couple of questions: 1. The sideplate has a small piece broken off of the top edge (ie chipped) so I am looking for a replacement. It is my understanding that the tenon dimension was changed around serial 100,000. Does this mean that the later sideplates will not fit the earlier rifles? Second question - Does changing the rear sight from the 1896 to the 1902 necessitate changing the front sight blade to maintain accuracy?

I would also like to find an original 1896 stock and handguard, but after only a week of looking it appears that is not too promising.

I look forward to learning more about the Krag 30-40 from the experienced members of the forum.

Lewis (lgr1613)

IP Logged

madsenshooter
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: New to Krag Rifles with Questions
Reply #1 - Dec 1st, 2018 at 6:30pm
Print Post  
Well Lewis, I can only answer one of your questions.  Yes, you'll have to get a higher front blade to go with the 1902 sight, as you can see in Poyer.  It's not so much to maintain accuracy, but to adjust the point of impact.  I'm assuming were talking about a standard front sight, not a commercial add on.  The 1902 sight, in combination with the 1896 height blade will have you shooting very high.

IP Logged

Knute1
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!