Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Which brand of brass? (Read 2593 times)
King carp
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Which brand of brass?
Apr 1st, 2019 at 3:44pm
Print Post  
Hello: I am new to the KGA. I hope I do this correctly. I am going to start reloading for my krag rifle. Is one brand of brass better than the other?  I am going to purchase new brass. Any recommendations on which brand is best? I will be using g cast bullets if that makes a difference.
           Thanks in advance, KC

IP Logged

Whig
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Which brand of brass?
Reply #1 - Apr 1st, 2019 at 5:21pm
Print Post  
If you are new to shooting the Krag, any kind of Krag brass will work as long as it is in good condition without any splits or cracks from over loading or aging. Sometimes people shoot and try to reload 100 year old brass which is not a good idea.

Make sure your Krag barrel is clean and your bolt works well. The cast bullets are great to reload with. many people here reload regularly with cast. Read through some of the previous posts to find a variety of load information.

As you get more refined and experienced with Krags, you might find which brass and bullet and powder combination works best with your set-up. Every rifle is slightly different and can do better with one load over another.

I use all mixed headstamped brass when I reload. If you are shooting for competition accuracy, you might do best to separate headstamps and keep clean that way to avoid variations in brass size and weights. I have mostly Remington brass that I reload but I've got a variety of all of them like others here.

Since you didn't give more info, this is just some basic stuff. If you have more specific questions, ask away. We all have different experiences with reloading for and shooting our Krags.

Also, please post pictures so we can enjoy your Krag(s) as much as you do!

Thanks and good luck.

IP Logged

King carp
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!