Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Krag carbine coming up at Julia's Auction (Read 11601 times)
Nelson
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Krag carbine coming up at Julia's Auction
Mar 15th, 2015 at 3:12am
Print Post  
I am hoping y’all will take pity on a raw rookie and share some of your expertise.   I am a bit of student of the Spanish American War from a military and political perspective.  But when it comes to the firearms of the war, I am well out of my depth.

Still, I am interested in a model 1896 Krag saddle ring carbine, serial number 68140, is being offered by the James D. Julia Auction. 

Here is a bare bones summary and a link:

Cal. 30-40 Krag. Standard 1896 Krag carbine with 22″ tapered rnd bbl, pedestal front sight with Sheard gold bead blade. It has standard carbine ladder sight graduated to 2000 yards. Left side of receiver has the Model 1896 markings and SN. Mounted in a 1-pc half stock with short hand guard and the sight protecting bbl band. Left side of stock has a staple & ring and the left wrist has an 1897 cartouche.

jamesdjulia.com/item/2140-373/

My question to you folks is not about the gun’s value.  It’s worth what somebody will pay for it.  I just wonder about authenticity.  Does the gun feel “right” to you experts as a weapon used in the war?

I have done enough collecting in Civil War firearms to be a bit paranoid.  So any thoughts you might have would be most welcome

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Krag carbine coming up at Julia's Auction
Reply #1 - Mar 15th, 2015 at 4:11am
Print Post  
Nelson:  U.S. Krag #68140 is documented as a ('Rough Rider') Model 1896 carbine, issued to Malcolm D. Lincoln, Co. G, 1st U.S. Volunteer Cavalry, in 1898.  It was used in the Spanish War in Cuba!

p.s. The "gold bead sheard front sight blade" would not have been put on the carbine by Springfield Armory and must be a later simple alteration.

(Good Luck at the auction)!

IP Logged

Nelson
KCA Forum Member