Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
I need your opinion on my 1898 Krag stock (Read 3902 times)
ncsammy
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

I need your opinion on my 1898 Krag stock
Jun 4th, 2015 at 11:17am
Print Post  
I’m new to the Krag Collectors’ Forum, but I’ve been collecting US and foreign military rifles for many years.  I have a question about my 1898 Krag rifle, which has a walnut stock that is lighter in color than most I’ve see.  I understand that some Krags were made with lighter color Italian walnut, but I’m not sure if mine is one of them.  I would appreciate hearing from the Krag experts on this.  Thank you in advance.

Sam

IP Logged

ncsammy
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: I need your opinion on my 1898 Krag stock
Reply #1 - Jun 4th, 2015 at 11:18am
Print Post  
Pictures of my Krag can be seen at:

(You need to Login to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Dick Hosmer
KCA Official Member

Collector of Springfield
Arms, 1865-1915

Reply #2 - Jun 4th, 2015 at 1:27pm
Print Post  
To my eye at least, that is not one of the light Italian walnut stocks, which have an almost unique "yellow" tone to them, nor is that the period in which such stocks occur.

I THINK it is a genuine period stock, but the pics (which are well-chosen and well-lit) are awfully blurry. It very well may have been chemically cleaned and re-oiled, however, as it appears somewhat on the light side of "normal".

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #3 - Jun 4th, 2015 at 2:15pm
Print Post  
"ncsammy": Welcome to the KCA Forum. I consider myself a Student of Krags, not an "Expert". (I look at them a lot, pay attention and try to learn from my fellow collectors).