Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
1896 Carbine - Need Opinions (Read 4147 times)
Ranger O
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

1896 Carbine - Need Opinions
Sep 8th, 2015 at 11:20pm
Print Post  
I just recently purchased my first Krag SN 31553 (see attached photos).  I had been searching for an early Model 1896 carbine of Spanish American War vintage mindful of the numerous cut-downs and fakes that are out there.   I followed the advice posted on this forum and elsewhere – I studied Joe Poyer’s book and I handled and examine several Krags before I made the purchase but I would still like to get a second opinion from you guys who are much more knowledgeable than me.  So my questions are:
1.      Does this appear to be a legit carbine?
2.      What if anything is the significance of the “15” and “PG” crudely carved into the receiver metal?  I assume that it is the work of some mindless idiot but I am not 100% sure.
3.      Regarding No. 2, would you recommend trying to somehow re-finish or polish this out of the metal?
I checked with Springfield Research Service and nothing came up for my Serial Number.   Any additional info would be appreciated.  Thanks,
Ranger O   

IP Logged

98src
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: 1896 Carbine - Need Opinions
Reply #1 - Sep 8th, 2015 at 11:27pm
Print Post  
Real carbine. Just live with the engraving.

IP Logged

Ranger O
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Sep 9th, 2015 at 12:28am
Print Post  
Thanks 98src. 

Any estimate on a range of value? I have heard $1,500 to $3,000 for legit carbines.    Bore is clean, rifling is visible but worn, action is smooth.

Also, if I were to take it to the range and fire a few rounds on a rare occasion what mfgr/type ammo would you recommend to minimize damage potential?

IP Logged

psteinmayer
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #3 - Sep 9th, 2015 at 11:11am
Print Post  
Welcome to the forum, and to the wonderful world of Krags!!!  Beware, they tend to multiply...