Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
what makes a krag carbine? (Read 4254 times)
Todd Doyka
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

what makes a krag carbine?
Nov 22nd, 2016 at 7:27am
Print Post  
now i am no expert, but what does a krag carbine(one that isn't bubbasized) look like compared to a rifle.

serial numbers? 1898 or 1899?
i don't know, but i'd like to learn.

thanks!

IP Logged

psteinmayer
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: what makes a krag carbine?
Reply #1 - Nov 22nd, 2016 at 12:28pm
Print Post  
Howdy Todd!  Check out the photo page on this forum:  (You need to Login to view media files and links)

Also, ask Mr. Hosmer to show you some of his collection (his is just about one of the best).

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Nov 22nd, 2016 at 5:14pm
Print Post  
".... what makes a krag carbine?" - The Springfield Armory!

IMHO - It is always a good idea to read and start a library, before investing in collectable firearms. Even as a young gun enthusiast, I quickly learned that there was a lot of bogus information concerning Krags.

Over the years at gun shows (and now on the internet) lots of people try to pass off cut-down rifles as Krag cavalry and "Philippine Constabulary" carbines. It has long been profitable to misrepresent altered rifles, (that should have been devalued), as legitimate carbines.

Fact - Because the Krag carbine was such a handy arm for 'Hunting', when eventually sold off by the government, many Krag rifles were shortened to carbine length by various parties.

The KCA website is a very good and helpful resource. There are other websites which are far less reliable. There are other websites that are very poor and offer erroneous data.