10 Restoring a 1896? (Read 9108 times)
1096369fred
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Restoring a 1896?
Jan 21st, 2011 at 5:17pm
Print Post  
Hey Guys,

I am a newbie here, and just found your forum, great place to speak Krag! This is my first Krag project, I am a upset as I thought the stock was uncut, but about 1" is missing from the front of the stock, under the nose piece (At least there are no extra holes in the receiver!), I got this off Gunbroker for what I think was a pretty good price, and I intend to restore it to it's original condition (You need to Login to view media files and links) (As much as I can anyway!)

The barrel is rough cut at 24" It looks like someone cut down the nose piece to make a kinda manlicher style stock out of it, so I will need a new barrel (Thinking a new one from CMP) Handgard, front and rear sights, a nose peice.  If anyone has the parts I am interested, also if anyone has the front part of a Krag stock, I would like to repair mine by gluing and doweling a patch to the front under the nose piece which I hope won't be visable. This piece is very pretty.... the stock is gorgeous so must be a repro as there isn't a scratch or dent on it. The action is nice too.... the barrel looks like it is new as well  bright shiny bore, with sharp rifeling. (I can't help but wonder what the original owner was thinking!)  Here is a link to some pics.

(You need to Login to view media files and links)

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Fred

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Restoring a 1896?
Reply #1 - Jan 21st, 2011 at 7:23pm
Print Post