Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 Unserialized Krag Sporter (Read 6844 times)
wellfedirishman
KCA Forum Member

Newbie Krag Enthusiast!

Unserialized Krag Sporter
Feb 10th, 2017 at 11:36pm
Print Post  
Hi Folks, a newbie here although I am active on many other shooting/casting forums.

I just picked up a sporterized Krag.  The interesting thing is that receiver appears unserialized, and there is no sign that it ever had a serial to begin with (no sign of a scrubbed serial, etc.)

The barrel is also not drilled/tapped for sights.  It currently wears a peep receiver sight (Rice type?).

Anyone know about Krags like this that are unserialized?  I have searched extensively on Google and the only reference I found to one was on this site back in 2010, with little information:

(You need to Login to view media files and links)

IP Logged

wellfedirishman
KCA Forum Member

Newbie Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Unserialized Krag Sporter
Reply #1 - Feb 10th, 2017 at 11:37pm
Print Post  
Here's a pic of the other side.  It is an 1896 model.

IP Logged

madsenshooter
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Feb 12th, 2017 at 4:50am
Print Post  
If it's a model 96, it's had some extensive work done.  The metal channel that the bolt handle passes through on 92s and 96s appears to be gone.

IP Logged

Tom Butts
KCA Forum Admin
KCA Official Member

Krag enthusiast!

Reply #3 - Feb 12th, 2017 at 3:02pm
Print Post