Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
 10 Question on sizing. (Read 4385 times)
King carp
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Question on sizing.
Mar 30th, 2020 at 6:43pm
Print Post  
Hello to the forum: Even though I have been reloading for 45 years I can count on one hand how many times I bought new brass. I usually had  brass donated or reloaded once fired factory ammo. With the high price of Krag factory ammo I picked up 200 new unprimed  hornady cases. Should I full length size them or just flare the necks a little and load as sized from the factory? I am loading them with cast bullets. Thanks in advance, KC

IP Logged

Whig
KCA Official Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Re: Question on sizing.
Reply #1 - Mar 30th, 2020 at 7:14pm
Print Post  
With the durability, dimensional inter-changability of and generosity of the Krag chamber and head spacing on the rim, I rarely full length size before shooting new brass in my Krags. You can be assured that the brass will be fire formed after shooting it the first time.

Stick with lower or moderately charged loads the first time and I think you'll be safe. Krag brass has always been easy for me to work with.

Good luck. See what other people's experiences have been and give it a try.

IP Logged

butlersrangers
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #2 - Mar 30th, 2020 at 7:19pm
Print Post  
I have used 'new-unprimed' factory Brass right out of the bag, without sizing.

Occasionally, a case-mouth may be slightly 'bent' in shipping. I just 'true it up' with the shank of a Philip's-Head screw-driver.

I seat primers with a Lee hand-tool. Load the new cases with measured powder charges and go right to the bullet seating Die.

With Cast Bullets, you will want to 'flare' the case mouth a bit.

IP Logged

Griff557
KCA Forum Member

Krag Enthusiast!

Reply #3 - Mar 30th, 2020 at 11:03pm
Print Post